Style Guide

Style Guide for Lasallian Family in the Philippines
Item Description
Br. Armin Luistro FSC
The FSC after a Brother's name should not be preceded by a comma and should not contain periods or spaces. It is always in caps.
Br., BR. When the word Brother precedes a name, it is abbreviated as Br. (or BR. if all caps), not Bro. (BRO.)
Brother Visitor Brother Visitor is the official title of the head of a District of the De La Salle Brothers
Provincial This is sometimes used to refer to the head of a District particularly for communications with non-members of the Lasallian Family as this is the more commonly used title in other religious congregations. For members of the Lasallian Family, the preferred and official title is Brother Visitor.
Brother, Brothers When referring to the De La Salle Brothers, the word Brother(s) is always capitalized.
De La Salle Brothers This is the other official English name of the Brothers of the Christian Schools.
De La Salle Brothers - Philippine District This is the official title of the entity of the Brothers in the Philippines
De La Salle Brothers, Inc. This is the corporate name of the De La Salle Brothers - Philippine District.
District When used to refer to the De La Salle Brothers - Philippine District, the word District is always capitalized.
District school This is used to refer to schools whose majority of corporation members are De La Salle Brothers. The word school is not capitalized.
Founder This word should always be capitalized when used in reference to St. John Baptist de La Salle.
FSC These initials refer to the official Latin name of the congregation: Fratres Scholarum Christianarum
John Baptist de La Salle or St. John Baptist de La Salle This refers to the complete name of the Founder in English. The word de when used this way is not capitalized.
St. La Salle or De La Salle The first letters of the Founder's shortened name are capitalized.
La Salle Novitiate This is the official name of the Novitiate of the Brothers in Lipa City, Batangas.
Lasallian Formation Center Situated on the second floor of the Brothers' Community at La Salle Green Hills, the LFC houses the postulants and the scholastics.
La Salle Provincialate This is the official name of the office headed by the Brother Visitor.
Lasallian Lasallian is always spelled as one word and the first letter is always capitalized.
Lasallian Family Family is always capitalized when preceded by Lasallian. It is an all-encompassing term that refers to the Brothers, affiliates, benefactors, Lasallian partners and associates, students and alumni.
Lasallian Partner Partner is always capitalized when preceded by Lasallian; Also the official name for a non-FSC co-worker in the Lasallian Mission
Lasallian Mission Refers to the mission of providing a Christian and human education to the young, especially the poor. Mission is always capitalized when preceded by Lasallian.
Auxiliary Visitor This is the official title of the equivalent of a vice provincial for the De La Salle Brothers.
District Bursar This is the official title of the District officer in charge of the assets of the District.
District Chapter This is the triennial assembly of Brothers that sets the directions of the District.
District Council This is the council of Brothers that helps the Visitor in leading the District.
Philippine Lasallian Family Convocation This is the triennial assembly of the Lasallian Family that sets directions for the Family and its mission.

Official Name Preferred Acronym/Remarks
De La Salle University-Manila DLSU-Manila, DLSU-M
De La Salle-Professional Schools, Inc. DLS-PSI
De La Salle-College of St. Benilde DLSU-CSB
De La Salle-Santiago Zobel School DLSZ
De La Salle Lipa DLSL
De La Salle University-Dasmariñas DLSU-Dasmariñas; DLSU-D
De La Salle-Health Sciences Campus DLSU-HSC
De La Salle Araneta University DLSAU
De La Salle University - Canlubang DLSU-C
La Salle Green Hills LSGH
La Salle College Antipolo LSCA
University of St. La Salle USLS
St. Joseph School - La Salle
(formerly St. Joseph's High School)
(formerly SJHS)
La Salle Academy LSA
La Salle University - Ozamiz (formerly Immaculate Concepcion College-La Salle) LSU-Ozamiz (formerly ICC-Ca Salle; ICC-LS)
Federation of Lasallian Institutions FLI
Lasallian Partners' Council LPC
Directors' Association DA
Lasallian Animation & Formation Team LAFT
District Justice & Peace Commission DJPC
Lasallian Supervised Schools Office LASSO
Lasallian Family Office LFO
Basic Education Commission BEC
Tertiary Education Commission TEC
District Catechetical Commission DCC
Lasallian Youth Commission LYC
Commission for the Special Education of the Disadvantaged CSED
Economic Planning & Development Committee EPDC
Initial Formation Board IFB
Continuing Formation Board CFB
De La Salle Brothers, Inc. DLSBI
La Salle Provincialate PRV
Signum Fidei Foundation, Inc. SFFI
Signum Fidei Association SFA
Signum Fidei Learning Center SFLC
Adult Night High School ANHS
La Salle Novitiate LSN
La Salle Novice NFSC
La Salle Provincialate PRV
Hermanas Guadalupanas de La Salle HGS
Sister Sr.
11th Philippine District Chapter PDC XI
Lasallian Ministry Action Plan LS MAP
Executive Vice President EVP
Lasallian Institute For the Environment LIFE
Sub-District Never Sub-district/subdistrict
La Salle Provincialate mailing address (postal) Greenhills P.O. Box 5601502
Greenhills, San Juan
Metro Manila, Philippines
La Salle Provincialate location address (courier) 343 Ortigas Avenue
1501 Mandaluyong City
Metro Manila, Philippines