College of Science


The graduate programs in the sciences were originally part of the Graduate School of Education, Arts and Sciences (GSEAS) established in 1963 to respond to the need of upgrading secondary education in the country through teacher training and faculty development. The shift towards tertiary education was realized in 1976. In 1980, Master's Degree Programs in Biology, Chemistry and Physics were offered. M.S. in Mathematics was subsequently offered in 1986 and the Ph.D. Biology was introduced in 1987.

In the First Term of the School Year 1990-91, the graduate and the undergraduate programs of each college in DLSU were integrated. Since then, the graduate programs in the sciences have been under the helm of the College of Science. The integration scheme was envisioned to bring about a culture of research at De La Salle University. The faculty development program of the college, as well as the continued recruitment of highly qualified faculty members, made possible the opening of the Ph.D. programs in the three departments: Ph.D. in Chemistry (1994), Ph.D. in Mathematics, and Ph.D. in Physics (1995).

The goal of the Graduate School of the College is a direct manifestation of the University Mission Statement: to develop an academic community of whole persons who are intellectually, socially, and spiritually responsive to the needs of the country using the instrument of science. Collectively, the Lasallian education promotes the values exemplified by Saint Baptist de La Salle. This goal is operationalized through the defined thrusts of the four departments through programs and services. The role of the science and technology, as mandated in the Constitution, is emphasized in the curricular offerings with research and development (R & D) as necessary input.


Contact Information

Office of Admissions and Scholarships
2/F Henry Sy, Sr. Hall
De La Salle University
2401 Taft Avenue
1004 Manila, Philippines

Tel. Nos.: (632) 523-4230 (Direct) or
(632) 524-4611 to 19 locals 166 and 167


Office Hours
Mondays to Fridays: 8:00am - 12noon; 1:30pm - 5:00pm
Saturdays: 8:00am - 12noon only